Talking with Intention: Effective Communication and Purposeful Self-Disclosure - Online Course - May 2021

Session Details

Event Date: 
Wed, 05/26/2021 - 12:00pm
Registration Fee: 
$180.00

Looking for WRAP and Addictions Webinar? Click here

 

As of April 15 this course is fully enrolled. Check out our next session on June 14 and 16.

Course Dates: Wednesday and Thursday - May 26 & 27 from 12pm-3pm ET/11am-2pm CT/10am-1pm MT/9am-12pm PT

This online course is designed for peer specialists and peer workers to examine effective communication strategies. Communication is at the core of all of our relationships. As a peer supporter it is critical to know what we are saying AND WHAT WE ARE HEARING is done in an effective, compassionate and respectful way. Are we communicating what we want to communicate. Are we giving others the space to listen. Are we using self-disclosure in a positive manner. We will also look at the special place a peer worker holds in an agency how we can best represent ourselves. We will also look at how the special concerns accompanying online communication.

Learning Objectives:  Through participation in this course we will:

  • Review a variety methods for communicating our message accurately, respectfully and with compassion.
  • Examine the skills needed for self-disclosure both as a listener and a speaker
  • Review the special role a peer specialist might be tasked with in an agency and what special interpersonal skills might be needed.
  • Explore the power of listening and the power of silence
  • Review what specials accommodations might be needed for online communication (e.g., emails, texts, Zoom)

Time: Live online sessions will be 6 total hours. 

Requirement:  Participants need access to computers with internet access and video capabilities.  

Online Application - Register TODAY!

A limited number of scholarships are available for unemployed peer specialists. Apply today!