Online Supervision and Support of the Peer Support Specialist -- October 2020

Session Details

Event Date: 
Tue, 09/29/2020 - 9:00am
Registration Fee: 
$399.00

 

Sessions:

  • Tuesday, September 29
  • Wednesday, September 30
  • Tuesday, October 6
  • Wednesday, October 7
  • Wednesday, October 14

Time: 9am-12pm ET/8am-11am CT/7am-10am MT/6am-9am PT

As solid evidence emerges that peer-delivered services are effective in fostering positive outcomes like decreased use of emergency and inpatient services, lower healthcare costs, and better health and wellness outcomes for recipients (Daniels, et. al., 2009; Corrigan, 2006), many traditional behavioral health agencies and systems are incorporating peer-delivered services into treatment teams and service programs (Dickerson, 2014). While consumers working within traditional agencies and systems can bring about significant cultural transformation within those institutions, there are still many critical issues that need to be addressed. (Slade, et al., 2014). With expanding opportunities for the unique roles of peer support specialists throughout systems of care, there is also an expanding necessity to provide appropriate supervision and support in the field.

The Copeland Center focuses on experiential learning collaboratives to build peer networks that foster grass-roots organizing, erodes barriers, builds connections and create communities of wellness. Our “Center” is not based on walls but values. Our “Center” is not a commodity it’s a community. We invite you through the design of this experiential and mutual learning approach to engage in our ongoing work and be part of our “center”.

This course is for potential and current CPS Supervisors to provide supervision for trained and certified peer specialists.  The course is designed to be highly interactive and engage participants through activities and discussions that require participants to apply concepts, new knowledge and skills raised by brief presentations.  Through completion of this course participants will be able to:

  • Understand the history, concepts and evidence for the recovery model
  • Describe the role, values and benefits of Peer Support Services
  • Identify the core competencies, values and code of ethics of a CPS
  • Apply leadership and management skills to support and promote the effective implementation of a Peer Support Service Program.
  • List action steps for personal growth as a CPS Supervisor
  • Advocate for the fidelity, purpose and effective role of a CPS

****This course meets the PA state qualification to provide supervision for trained and certified peer specialists. 

Course requirements: Course meets in live online sessions on Zoom and requires work inbetween sessions on a learning management system (CANVAS). Participants must attend all 5 sessions and complete all online assignments to receive a certificate.