Introduction to Peer Supported Community Inclusion - Online Course - Feb 2021

Session Details

Training Type: 
Event Date: 
Tue, 02/16/2021 - 12:00pm
Registration Fee: 
$180.00

THIS COURSE IS NOW FULL. We are taking WAITLIST ONLY applications. (2/10/21)

Course Dates: Tuesday, February 16 and Thursday, February 18 from 12pm-3pm ET/11am-2pm CT/10am-1pm MT/9am-12pm PT

Goal:  This online introductory course is designed for peer specialists to gain an understanding of the importance of community inclusion to our health and the of role peer support in increasing wellness through meaningful community participation.

Learning Objectives:  Through participation in this course we will:

  1. Describe community inclusion and participation as a medical necessity
  2. List the principles of facilitating community inclusion
  3. Describe how to access community participation in multiple domains of community participation and its importance to wellness and recovery
  4. Utilize and apply a self-inventory tool of community participation 
  5. Identify next steps to increasing peer-supported community inclusion skills. 

Requirement:  Participants need access to computers with internet access and video capabilities.  Reading materials, online discussions, questions and life work assignments will be required throughout this course. The online sessions need to be secured so arriving on-time is critical.  Full participation is required for the full certificate at the end of the course.

(This course is the best preparation for Peer Specialist prior to entering the Seminar I and II Peer Supported Community Inclusion Co-Facilitator trainings. The Copeland Center works in partnership with Temple University Collaborative on Community Inclusion to combine the lived experience of people in recovery with innovative research projects, intervention development, and communicating the importance of community inclusion and participation in everyone’s life.)

Time: Live online sessions will be over 6 total hours. Reading assignments and online discussions will require approximately 1 hour of “outside of classroom” prep time.    

Online Application - Register TODAY!

A limited number of scholarships are available for unemployed peer specialists. Apply today!